Before

Well, today I am taking the frame I bought two weeks ago over to Blue Line Bike Lab on White Oak to begin the build. Here is the frame; as fas as I can tell from scouring the internet it is a mid-80’s Univega frame built in Japan:

Steel Road Bike frames from this time were butted, which means the various tubes intersected at precasted joints the tubing is  thinned to make them lighter. The tubing is joined by lugs which can be very decorative; these are pretty Spartan. This particular Univega used their Mangalight alloy (along with triple butting) to make the frame lighter.

This bike came with a glossy black seatpost and stem; if I want to keep them and the black saddle I will probably get an all black wheelset and black handlebar tape with an all black drivetrain. I had pictured more of a vintage look in my mind – polished silver wheels and drivetrain with a brown leather saddle and brown leather handlebar tape. I do plan to get high profile wheels regardless of color.

I am going to try and get a 48 tooth crank and a 16 tooth cog in the rear and I also plan to get a front brake installed.

Finally, here is a picture of Daniel’s Raleigh, I love the way it rides and hope my Univega turns out as well:

2 responses to “Before

  1. I think you have mixed up butted with lugged. Butted means that the frame tubes, instead of being straight gage pipe, are thinner in parts where less strength is needed. This saves weight. These japanese built triple butted frames are really nice. I envy your build.

    • Thanks for pointing out the distinction; I understood the idea of butted tubing being thinned but I see that that the lugs are just joining pieces. Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment